you're reading...

Cornelius News

Primary Election: Polls close at 7:30 pm

Campaigning at 202: David Buck, Tyler Lee, Derek Wilson / Photo: Dave Yochum

May 17. Primary Day voting runs until 7:30 pm May 17 at assigned polling places in Cornelius and statewide. Per state election rules, voters who register independent can vote for either Republican or Democratic candidates in the primary, but not both.

There were no lines at Town Hall (202), Bethel Presbyterian (208), Community in Christ Lutheran (240) and Jetton Park (242) at 8:30 this morning.

Voters are selecting two finalists in a variety of contests, from the US Senate to Mecklenburg County Sheriff.

The only campaigners were at Town Hall, where David Buck was campaigning for county board candidate Jennifer De La Jara; Tyler Lee himself was campaigning for the US House of Representatives seat now held by Alma Adams; and Derek Wilson was campaigning for sheriff candidate Gina Hicks.

For a list of all polling places and key contests, click here.

Noteworthy on the primary ballot

NC Senate District 37: There is a primary on the Republican line between NC Sen. Vickie Sawyer and Thomas Fyler of Mooresville. In the process of redistricting, Sawyer picked up a portion of Cornelius while losing precincts in Yadkin County. For Fyler, a real estate agent from Mooresville, this is his first attempt at public office. District 37 includes only the western part of Cornelius.

It means Cornelius is going to have two senators, not just one.

County Sheriff: Gina Hicks and Marquis Robinson, as well as Incumbent Garry McFadden, are on the Democratic primary ballot.

US Senate: Both parties have multiple candidates seeking to run for the US Senate. The most controversial race on the Republican side: Pat McCrory, Ted Budd and Mark Walker.

US House of Representatives: Both parties have primary candidates. Incumbent Democrat Alma Adams is among those on the ballot.

County Board of Commissioners: On the Democratic Ballot, there’s a race between six candidates: Pat Cotham, Jennifer De La Jara, Arthur Griffin Jr, Yvette Townsend-Ingram, Leight Altman and Trina Boyd. The top three will run in November.

District Attorney: On the Democratic side, there is a primary between Tim Emry and incumbent Spencer Merriweather.

Judicial positions: Both parties also have a number of judicial candidates on their respective primary ballots.

—Dave Vieser contributed to this story