you're reading...

Recent Posts

Four appointed to Planning Board

July 19. By Dave Vieser. At the Monday July 18 Town Board meeting, Cornelius commissioners unanimously approved four new members to serve on the Town Planning Board.

Commissioner Michael Osborne, who serves as liaison between the Town Board and the Planning Board, had previously interviewed the applicants and recommended their approval. All four terms are for three years and expire in June of 2025.

New members

Seat 1: Rachel Bernard replaces Danielle Miller. When asked if she did not want to be reappointed, Miller said “My term was up, I’ve served on the planning board for five years.”

Seat 2: Scott Higgins fills a vacant seat.

Seat 3: Fred Westaway fills a vacant seat.


Seat 8: William Sykes replaces Sean Herndon, who did not want to be reappointed.

Also at Monday’s meeting, the commissioners heard from Interim CMS Superintendent Hugh Hattabaugh. The former Cornelius resident is helping to find a new leader for the school system. “I’m thrilled to be working on this assignment, and feel like I have enough gas in my tank to help achieve a successful transition.”