you're reading...

Cornelius News

Familiar faces to remain on Meck County Commission

Nov. 9. By Dave Vieser. Two veteran Mecklenburg County officials—Democrats Pat Cotham and Elaine Powell—have been reelected to the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners.

In the at-large contest, where voters could chose up to three candidates, Cotham was the top vote-getter with 29 percent of the vote. Over the years, she has developed a reputation for hard work with Democrats and Republicans alike.

Mecklenburg County Commissioner Pat Cotham

As an at-large commissioner, Cotham has paid special attention to North Meck.

Cotham captured 239,788 votes.

Also victorious for at-large posts were Leigh Altman (228,598 votes)  and first-time candidate Arthur Griffin Jr. (227,732 votes).

Both are Democrats.

The District 1/North Meck race was won by incumbent Elaine Powell, who defeated Republican Ross Monks 56 percent to 43 percent. This marks her third victory for the seat. In 2018, she defeated incumbent Jim Puckett in a race that underscored the political shift in the Mecklenburg suburbs.

The North Mecklenburg district—mainly Cornelius, Huntersville, and Davidson—has grown faster among Independents and Democrats than Republicans. She was re-elected in 2020.

Elaine Powell

Powell has been an advocate for citizen engagement, environmental stewardship, public parks, public schools and public health.

District 1 results

Powell: 39,591

Monks: 30,206