you're reading...

Cornelius News

3 more incumbents file to run for Town Board

July 10. UPDATE 9 AM. Three more Cornelius commissioners have filed at the Mecklenburg County Board of Elections to run for re-election.

Denis Bilodeau, Dave Gilroy and Michael Miltich will run in the November elections for seats on the five-member non-partisan board. The highest vote-getter—Miltich was in 2017—traditionally becomes mayor pro tem.


Bilodeau is a first-time commissioner. Miltich never even expected to be elected, let alone garner the most votes.  If re-elected, this would be Miltich’s third term on the board.

Gilroy is a town board veteran and a noted budget hawk with a background in finance.

Commissioner Thurman Ross and Mayor Woody Washam have already filed to run again.

Miltich out-polled incumbents like Gilroy, Ross and Jim Duke, who was edged out in the 11-way race two years ago.


Three women candidates—Tricia Sisson, Michelle Ferlauto and Ava Callender—also lost in 2017.

NEW: Ava Callender filed this morning.

Bilodeau, the president of The Peninsula Property Owners Association, as well as the principal columnist for a neighborhood magazine, is a board member of the Cain Center for the Arts.

He also serves on the board of Visit Lake Norman and the Charlotte Arts & Science Council.

Candidate filing opened July 5 and will close July 19. Naas and Gilroy have said they will run again.


Sisson, Ferlauto and Callender say they have no plans to run; likewise Richard Stilwell and William Rakatansky, both candidates back in 2017, say they will not run.

Duke, also a former head of the Peninsula Property Owners, has not ruled out another bid for the town board.

He sparred this past year with Gilroy over tax and spending issues.

The first day of Early Voting is Wednesday, Oct. 16. It ends Friday, Nov. 1.

Election Day this year is Tuesday, Nov. 5.