you're reading...

Cornelius News

Early voting starts next week 


May 28. By Dave Vieser. One stop/early voting will begin next week in Cornelius to select the Republican and Democratic representatives to run in North Carolina’s newly drawn 12th Congressional District. North Carolina’s new 12th is now confined entirely to Mecklenburg County, redrawn by state legislators after a panel of three judges ruled the previous district unconstitutional.

Early Voting at Cornelius Town Hall will take place from 10 am to 7 pm Tuesday May 31 through Friday June 3, and from 10 am to 1pm Saturday June 4. Registered voters can cast their early ballot or vote on Primary Election Day, Tuesday June 7.

Republican candidates on the ballot are Leon Threatt, Paul Wright and Ryan Duffie. Democrats are Alma Adams, Tricia Cotham, Carla Cunningham, Malcolm Graham, Gardenia Henley, Rick Miller and Rodney Moore. The district favors the Democratic party, according to analysts.

In addition to the candidates for the 12th District, there are four individuals seeking to run as Associate Justice on the Supreme Court in a nonpartisan election: Bob Evans, Sabra Faires, Mike Morgan and Daniel Robertson

Regular polling places will be open from 6:30 am to 7:30 pm on Tuesday June 7. To check on the location of a polling place, contact the Mecklenburg County Board of Elections: 704-336-2133.