you're reading...

Recent Posts

6 NC members off Congress say they will vote against election certification today

Jan. 6. Six Republican lawmakers from North Carolina say they plan to fight the presidential election results in the final step of the certification process today in Congress. They will object to the Electoral College results as those votes are read, state by state, in a joint session that begins at 1 pm.

Objecting are: Rep. Ted Budd, District 13: Rep. Madison Cawthorn, District 11; Rep. Richard Hudson, District 8; Rep. David Rouzer, District 7; Rep. Greg Murphy, District 3; and Rep. Dan Bishop, District 9.

Bishop’s district includes south-central Mecklenburg, Union, Anson, Richmond, Scotland, Robeson, Bladen, and Cumberland counties.


“Because the Democrats’ campaign of litigation has tainted some states’ elections, I will join in objections to those states’ electors. I consider this to be an obligation of utmost gravity, predicated on my oath to defend the Constitution, and I hope that the controversy at hand will lead to restoring the administration of elections as the Constitution envisions,” Bishop said.

District 12 US Rep. Alma Adams, who represents Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, including Cornelius, in Congress, said she is voting for certification. The Democrat said President Trump “attempted to pressure and blackmail” a state elections official into changing the results in Georgia during a phone call last week.


“Donald Trump belongs in prison. His actions justify it, the integrity of the Constitution necessitates it, and the sanctity of our Democracy requires it,” she said.

Senators will certify

US Sen. Richard Burr responded “no” when asked by POLITICO about joining US Sen. Josh Hawley’s effort to object.

Around noon today, US Sen. Thom Tillis, a former Cornelius Town Commissioner, declared that he will vote to certify President-elect Joe Biden’s Electoral College victory.