you're reading...

Recent Posts

Task force will look for new funding mechanisms for road projects

July 18. Mayor Woody Washam has announced the creation of a Mayor’s Task Force on Transportation Funding and Implementation.

The purpose of this task will be to investigate how to more quickly move critical town road projects forward within the town.  This Task Force is a follow-up to the already established Transportation Advisory Board which focuses on projects needed, not how to pay for them.


Washam, who said the other North Mecklenburg Mayors have agreed to support this effort on a regional level, said it was imperative to find new ways to invest in improvements that will make an immediate difference. The new task force is expected “to think outside of the box” to get impactful projects done while keeping the town fiscally sound.

Task Force members:
Jim Engel – former CEO of Aquesta Bank, who will serve as Co-Chair of the Task Force
Robbie Carney – Former Executive Director of Mooresville EDC and Cabarrus EDC, IT Exec
Keith Eicher – Former Chairman of Cornelius Planning Board
Matt Gallagher – Executive, Blue Heel Developers
Carroll Gray – Former CEO of Charlotte Chamber
Mike Griffin – Griffin Brothers Companies
Joe Hannah – Kimsley Horne (Transportation Engineer)
Dr. Mike Miltich – retired physician and former Chairman of CRTPO
Richard Pappas – Financial Executive with FNB
Lou Raymond – Transportation Engineer and Chairman of Cornelius Transportation Advisory Board
Greg Wessling – Executive with LKN Company, former Lowes Executive, Board Chair of Cain Center for the Arts
Commissioner Denis Bilodeau
Commissioner Colin Furcht